Racing no image

Published on June 19th, 2013 | by Joe


Adam McGill Takes the Victory at Parts Unlimited Mountaineer Run GNCC

Adam McGill Takes the Victory at Parts Unlimited Mountaineer Run GNCC
Landon Wolfe Secures First-Career XC2 Win in West Virginia

Photos by: Ken Hill

MASONTOWN, W. Va. (June 15, 2013) – Round 8 of the AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series made a stop in Masontown, W. Va. on Saturday, where thousands of fans witnessed a spectacular day of ATV racing. West Virginia’s very own Adam McGill bested the current points leader Chris Borich in an exciting battle that came down to the final turns of the Parts Unlimited Mountaineer Run GNCC.

McGill began his day on the right foot, taking the $250 Team Woodhead/DeRisi Racing XC1 Holeshot Award in front of his hometown crowd of friends and family. Four-Time GNCC Champion Chris Borich jumped into the second place position right away, while JB Racing/Can-Am’s Jarrod McClure began the afternoon in third. Reliable Tool Supply/Maxxis’ Chris Bithell and AmPro Yamaha’s Walker Fowler also put themselves into the top five battle right way and the lead pack rode wheel-to-wheel on the opening lap.

McGill grabbed the $250 Team Woodhead/DeRisi Racing Holeshot Award

Lonestar Racing/Precision/ITP’s McGill put a sizeable gap on the rest of the field by Lap 3, but the Maxxis-backed Suzuki duo of Bithell and Borich closed the gap right away and the three front-runners diced it out for the lead position.

Fowler experienced a crash around the halfway point that caused him to lose sight of the leaders. A second crash set him back a few more positions before eventually making his way into the top five, where he maintained his position throughout the afternoon.

Fred Marley grabbed another $100 All Balls Racing Holeshot Award

Meanwhile, the three-way battle between McGill, Borich and Bithell began to heat up on the final lap as the trio continued to fight for the lead position. McGill and Borich traded places out front on the last lap but Borich experienced a setback when he got hung up in lapped traffic near the end, losing valuable time to McGill. However, Borich was able to catch the rear wheel of McGill as the duo came into the final turns of the two-hour race side-by-side. In the end, it was McGill who bested Borich in only his second loss of the season.

McGill (right) bested Borich (left) in the final turns of the two-hour race

Bithell came through the finish only five seconds behind to secure a third place finish at the Mountaineer Run GNCC. McClure put in a season-best finish of fourth place just behind Bithell, and Fowler was able to salvage fifth place overall.

XC1 class rookie Braden Henthorn matched his season-best finish of sixth overall, while BNR’s Kevin Yoho came in seventh for the day. Waynesburg Yamaha/GT Thunder’s Jeff Pickens secured eighth place for the day, while HMF/GBC/Yamaha’s Johnny Gallagher took ninth and Ohio’s Eric Hoyland rounded out the top ten.

XC1 podium: (left) Chris Borich, (center) Adam McGill, (right) Chris Bithell

Borich continues to lead the overall standings after eight rounds of racing and McGill has taken over the second place position. Fowler sits in a close third place, with Bithell and Yoho rounding out the top five in the overall standings.

In the XC2 division, rookie Landon Wolfe secured his first career win in the XC2 class following a consistent string of podium finishes this season. It was Indiana’s Fred Marley who took the early lead, grabbing the $100 All Balls Racing Holeshot Award in the XC2 class, but Wolfe was right there from the start.

Marley maintained a podium contending position, while Michael Lancaster and Josh Merritt charged to the front of the pack. Merritt was able to make his way into the top three, eventually securing his first podium finish of the season.

XC2 Podium: (left) Fred Marley, (center) Landon Wolfe, (right) Josh Merritt

Lancaster put in a solid performance to capture fourth place in the XC2 class, while Randy Hamilton rounded out the top five.

Pennsylvania’s Cole Richardson was the highest placing amateur of the day, finishing 12th overall to capture the Top Amateur Award. Richardson beat out usual front-runner Marshal Goings and a talented field of young riders in the College A division.

UTV podium: Team Polaris National Guard (left) and Coastal National Guard (right)

In the 10 a.m. race, it was young gun Cody Collier who took his first-ever overall win from the Schoolboy 13-15 class. Super Senior (45+) winner Dave Simmons grabbed second overall, while Team UXC Racing’s Michael Swift rounded out the overall podium. In addition to topping the ultra-competitive U2 division, Swift also grabbed the highest placing 4×4 honor, beating out Can-Am teammate Robert Smith.

Round 4 of the UTV series took place at the Mountaineer Run GNCC, where the defending National Champion Polaris National Guard team took the overall win. Pennsylvania’s Team Jacks grabbed second overall, while the Coastal National Guard team rounded out the overall podium, as well as the top three XC1 Modified.

Team Polaris National Guard took yet another win at the Mountaineer Run GNCC

The 2013 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series continues June 29 and 30 for the AMSOIL Snowshoe GNCC at Snowshoe Mountain Resort in West Virginia. For more information on the series, visit

Stay up-to-date with exclusive content from the 2013 AMSOIL GNCC Series by following the series Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

About GNCC Racing

The AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country series is America’s premier off-road racing series. Founded in 1975, the 13-round championship is produced exclusively by Racer Productions. Cross-country racing is one of the most physically demanding sports in the world. The grueling three-hour GNCC races lead as many as 1,500 riders through tracks ranging in length from eight to 12 miles. With varied terrain, including hills, woods, mud, dirt, rocks and motocross sections, GNCC events are tests of both survival and speed. The series draws talent from all over the U.S., Europe, Japan, Australia and New Zealand. GNCC Racing is televised weekly on NBC Sports and For more information, please visit

XC1 Event Results:

  1. Adam McGill (HON)
  2. Chris Borich (SUZ)
  3. Chris Bithell (SUZ)
  4. Jarrod McClure (CAN)
  5. Walker Fowler (YAM)
  6. Braden Henthorn (HON)
  7. Kevin Yoho (YAM)
  8. Jeff Pickens (YAM)
  9. Johnny Gallagher (YAM)
  10. Eric Hoyland (HON)

XC2 Event Results:

  1. Landon Wolfe (SUZ)
  2. Fred Marley (HON)
  3. Josh Merritt (YAM)
  4. Michael Lancaster (HON)
  5. Randy Hamilton (HON)
  6. Blake Kramer (YAM)
  7. Thomas Koontz (HON)
  8. Brody Livengood (YAM)
  9. Nathan Wallpe (HON)
  10. Brycen Neal (HON)

XC1 Series Standings:

  1. Chris Borich (226)
  2. Adam McGill (162)
  3. Chris Bithell (160)
  4. Walker Fowler (157)
  5. Kevin Yoho (115)
  6. Jarrod McClure (114)
  7. Jeff Pickens (112)
  8. Braden Henthorn (110)
  9. Johnny Gallagher (108)
  10. Gabe Phillips (91)

XC2 Series Standings:

  1. Brycen Neal (190)
  2. Landon Wolfe (153)
  3. Fred Marley (141)
  4. Patrick McGuire (136)
  5. Randy Hamilton (115)
  6. Michael Lancaster (110)
  7. Josh Merritt (109)
  8. Blake Kramer (103)
  9. Nathan Wallpe (94)
  10. Chad Jones (93)

*Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Chris Borich (226)
  2. Adam McGill (151)
  3. Walker Fowler (149)
  4. Chris Bithell (147)
  5. Kevin Yoho (109)
  6. Jeff Pickens (102)
  7. Braden Henthorn (96)
  8. Johnny Gallagher (94)
  9. Jarrod McClure (92)
  10. Brycen Neal (73)

*Indicates that the Overall National Championship Standings will determine the 2013 National Champion.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About the Author

Back to Top ↑