Racing no image

Published on November 11th, 2011 | by Joe


Borich and Fowler Top 2011 GNCC ATV Championships

America’s fastest four-wheeled woods racers complete another strong season

Morgantown, W. Va. (November 10, 2011) – Chris Borich wrapped up his third consecutive Can-Am Grand National Cross Country Series title after winning an impressive nine of 13 races in the ATV XC1 Pro class this season on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki. Similarly, Ballance Racing Yamaha’s Walker Fowler dominated the XC2 Pro Am class, making GNCC history as the young racer went undefeated with 13 consecutive race-wins. Along with the XC2 title, Fowler enters the XC1 Pro class as a rookie in 2012 with two overall race wins under his belt already.

But Borich and Fowler are just part of the 2011 GNCC Championship roll call. In GNCC, the afternoon race consists of not only Pro and Pro Am classes, but also the “A” and “B” classes – making for a fast-paced two-hours of racing from the first row to the last. Marietta, Ohio’s Braden Henthorn proved to be a tough competitor this year as he claimed the College A (16-21) class championship and even moved up to the XC2 Pro Am ranks for the final two rounds of racing. Manchester, Maryland’s Landon Wolfe took the College B (16-21) class championship and finished the season with an impressive win in College A, with the absence of Henthorn at the final round at Loretta Lynn Ranch. Other “A” class champions include Jonathan Fugate in Junior A (22+), Todd Demaree in Vet A (30+) and Senior A (40+) champion Tom Wright. Other “B” class champions include Junior B (22+) champion Nathan Hornacek, Arthur Blystone in the Vet B (30+) class and Senior B (40+) champion Leroy Shook.

In the morning races, Ohio’s Dave Simmons took the Masters (50+) class championship once again and rightfully so as he dominated the ATV morning podium all season. Women’s class champion Traci Cecco claimed her eighth career championship after a season-long battle with defending champion Kristen Atwell and 2011 runner-up Angel Atwell – all three Women graced the overall podium on several occasions this year.

The competition was tighter than ever in the Utility ATV classes this season. The 4×4 Open championship came down to the wire as Tennessee’s Michael Swift and West Virginia’s Bryan Buckhannon ended the season in a tie for points. Buckhannon edged out Swift in the final round as he claimed his sixth race-win to top Swift’s five previous wins for the year. Tennessee’s Clifton Beasley topped the U2 class with a nearly perfect season.

The Polaris National Guard/Coastal Drilling/Yokely Racing team, hailing from Tompkinsville, Kentucky, took the top UTV honors by winning the overall championship, as well as the Open Modified class title.

The 2011 GNCC Champions will be honored at this year’s GNCC Awards Banquet December 2 and 3 in Morgantown, W. Va. at the Waterfront Place Hotel and Convention Center. The top 10 ATV/UTV racers in each class will receive awards on Friday, December 2 and the bikes will celebrate on Saturday, December 3. Dinner begins at 6 p.m. each night and advanced reservations are required. For more information on the banquet or to reserve a room at the Waterfront Place Hotel, please visit the 2011 Awards Banquet Page.

Congratulations to all 2011 GNCC ATV and UTV Class Champions!

XC1 Pro Chris Borich 20+ C Kevin Wallpe
XC2 Pro Am Walker Fowler 24+ C Randall Maupin
College A (16-21) Braden Henthorn 30+ C Casey Repass
Junior A (22+) Jonathan Fugate 35+ C Chris Staton
Vet A (30+) Todd Demaree 40+ C Kevin Wright
College B (16-21) Landon Wolfe 4×4 Novice Joshua Trafelet
Junior B (22+) Nathan Hornacek Women Novice (15+) Kylie Ahart
Vet B (30+) Arthur Blystone S. Boy (13-15) Novice Brayden Shick
Senior A (40+) Tom Wright 90 Open (12-15) Cody Collier
Senior B (40+) Leroy Shook 90 Modified (12-15) Zachary Jones
U2 Clifton Beasley 90 Limited (11-15) Thomas M. Owen
4×4 Open Bryan Buckhannon Girls (8-15) Alyssa Oplinger
Women Traci Cecco 90 Open (8-11) Hunter Hart
Super Senior (45+) Barry G. Taylor 90 Modified (8-11) Ronald Molitor
Masters (50+) Dave A. Simmons 90 Limited (8-10) Bryce Chipman
4×4 Lites Kevin Trantham 70 CVT (6-11) Sadie Welch
4×4 S. Senior (45+) Forrest Whorton UTV Open Modified Polaris National Guard
Sport (15+) Garon Davis UTV Open Limited Team Travalena
S. Boy (13-15) A/B
Brycen Neal UTV Lites Team Faith
16-19 C Chad Jones UTV Single Seat John Trackside

About GNCC Racing

The Can-Am Grand National Cross Country series is America’s premier off-road racing series. Founded in 1979, the 13-round championship is produced exclusively by Racer Productions. Cross-country racing is one of the most physically demanding sports in the world. The grueling three-hour GNCC races lead as many as 1,500 riders through tracks ranging in length from eight to 12 miles. With varied terrain, including hills, woods, mud, dirt, rocks and motocross sections, GNCC events are tests of both survival and speed. Riders compete for more than $3 million in prize money, which draws talent from all over the U.S., Europe, Australia and New Zealand. GNCC Racing is televised and airs every week on the Versus Network. For more information, please visit

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Back to Top ↑