Published on July 9th, 2017 | by MX Nationals


MX Nationals Round 7 2017 Race Report

Wiseco ATV Motocross Championship Results: Spring Creek National
Joel Hetrick Dominates with a 1-1 Finish in Minnesota


MILLVILLE, Minn. (July 3, 2017) – The 2017 Wiseco ATV Motocross National Championship (ATVMX) presented by CST Tires, an AMA National Championship, continued this past weekend, July 1, with the Spring Creek ATVMX National. The seventh round in Millville, Minnesota, proved to be one of the most thrilling – where now only one point separates first and second in the championship standings.

Joel Hetrick earned the Top Qualifier Award in addition to both SSi Decal Holeshot Awards at Spring Creek MX this past Saturday.

Wienen Motorsports/SSi Decals/Walsh Racecraft/Yamaha/Maxxis/7240’s Chad Wienen came into this past weekend’s race fresh off a big win at his home track, and as the pros took to course for time qualifying he looked to keep the momentum rolling. However, his biggest competition and Maxxis/Elka/Liquid Wrench/Honda’s Joel Hetrick had a different idea, where he was able to score the Top Qualifier Award at the conclusion of the second session.

Hetrick didn’t stop there, where he jumped out to the early lead in moto one, claiming the SSi Decals Holeshot Award. With a clear track in front of him, Hetrick made quick work to gap the rest of the field. Wienen sat in second and slowly began to reel in Hetrick, but wasn’t able to get close enough to battle for the lead by the time the moto was complete.

Thomas Brown and Jeffrey Rastrelli battled the whole day, but in the end it was Brown coming out with the final podium position.

With the two front runners evenly spread out, much of the attention was on Root River Racing/CST Tires/Pro Motorsports-backed Thomas Brown and JB Racing/Root River Racing’s Jeffrey Rastrelli, who were wheel-to-wheel for the final podium position. The duo continued to swap positions the entire race, but when the checkered flag was out it was Rastrelli in third.

Hetrick started the second moto just like the first where he grabbed another SSi Decals Holeshot Award. This time, Wienen, was in close proximity. Wienen continued to ride consistently, and made the pass for the lead on the outside of a turn. The five-time championship continued his push and built up a small gap on Hetrick who continued to ride in second. As the end drew near, Hetrick caught back up to Wienen and started applying the pressure. Wienen made a small bobble and spun out in a turn, allowing for Hetrick to secure the lead. Wienen quickly recovered, but time ran out before he could get back in the front. Hetrick’s 1-1 finishes allowed him to not only take the overall victory, but also earn valuable points in the National Championship standings where he only sits one point out of the lead. Wienen continued his podium streak in second.

Chad Wienen finished second overall with a 2-2 score.

The battle between Brown and Rastrelli continued in the second moto, but this time it was Brown coming out with third. With a 4-3 moto tally, Brown rounded out the overall podium in third with Rastrelli taking fourth overall. GennUSA Racing’s Nick Gennusa finished fifth overall. Walsh Racecraft/Honda’s Parker Wewerka had his best race of the season in sixth, and Root River Racing’s Josh Upperman and Ford Brother’s Racing/Solo Pilot’s Westley Wolfe followed in seventh and eighth. Baldwin Motorsports/Ford Brother’s Racing/Root River Racing’s Ronnie Higgerson and AMPED Vossman Motorsports-backed Sam Rowe rounded out the top ten overall at Spring Creek MX.

Overall Podium: (2) Chad Wienen, (1) Joel Hetrick, (3) Thomas Brown.

The Wiseco ATVMX National Championship travels to New Berlin, New York on July 15 and 16 for the Unadilla ATVMX National. A highlight show featuring this weekend’s event will air on MAVTV on Saturday, August 26.

For more information on the 2017 Wiseco ATV Motocross National Championship, visit the official series website at Join the conversation on the series Facebook page, follow on Twitter and Instagram, and be sure to always hashtag #ATVMX.

Spring Creek MX
Millville, Minnesota
Round 7 of 10
Saturday, July 1

2017 AMA Pro Class Event Results:

  1. Joel Hetrick (1-1)
  2. Chad Wienen (2-2)
  3. Thomas Brown (4-3)
  4. Jeffrey Rastrelli (3-4)
  5. Nick Gennusa (7-5)
  6. Parker Wewerka (6-6)
  7. Josh Upperman (5-9)
  8. Westley Wolfe (8-7)
  9. Ronnie Higgerson (9-8)
  10. Sam Rowe (10-11)

Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Chad Wienen (299)
  2. Joel Hetrick (298)
  3. Jeffrey Rastrelli (240)
  4. Thomas Brown (233)
  5. Nick Gennusa (217)
  6. Ronnie Higgerson (194)
  7. Josh Upperman (185)
  8. Parker Wewerka (173)
  9. Westley Wolfe (147)
  10. Brett Musick (119)

SSi Decals Holeshot Award Standings:

  1. Joel Hetrick (14)
  2. Cole Sepesi (2)
  3. Josh Upperman (2)
  4. Sam Rowe (2)
  5. Chad Wienen (1) Top Qualifier Award Standings:

  1. Joel Hetrick (4)
  2. Chad Wienen (3)

About the Wiseco ATV Motocross National Championship:

The Wiseco ATV Motocross National Championship presented by CST Tires, an AMA National Championship, is the nation’s premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series, hosted at top motocross facilities nationwide. The 10-round series features the Nation’s best racers, teams and sponsors, and is America’s largest and longest-running ATV national motocross program. Since 1985, the series continues to expand and produce top talent from the amateur ranks, while premiering the professional class. For more information, please visit

About the American Motorcyclist Association:

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit Not a member? Join the AMA today:

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

MX Nationals

Back to Top ↑