Racing no image

Published on March 23rd, 2012 | by Joe


Natalie Becomes the Target as 2012 ATVMX Season Kicks off in Georgia

Aonia Pass MX Hosts Opening Round This Weekend

Natalie is the rider to beat in this opening round

Morgantown, W.Va. (March 21, 2012) – Motoworks/Can-Am’s John Natalie knows exactly what it’s like to defend a championship in the AMA ATV Motocross National Championship Series, but it’s been since his 2005 title-run that the ATV Motocross veteran has had the pressure on his shoulders. Natalie is set to defend his 2011 title against the fastest four-wheeled ATV Motocross racers in the world this Saturday, March 24, at Aonia Pass MX Park in Washington, Ga.

The pool of talent in this year’s Pro ATVMX class is setting up the 2012 season to be on of the most highly contested battles to date. Baldwin Motorports/PEP/Upperman Racing’s Josh Upperman challenged Natalie’s championship run all the way to the final round of racing, where he and the current champ went head-to-head, leaving Upperman less than ten points short of the title. Ohio’s Upperman is back with his Baldwin Motorsports team on a very familiar Honda machine and looks to continue as a heavy contender once again this season.
Motoworks/Can-Am’s newest addition, Joel Hetrick, ended his rookie season in 2011 with an overall win at Loretta Lynn’s, sweeping both motos over a stacked field of seasoned pros. With a full season in the pro class under his belt, and a fifth place finish in last year’s point standings, the young Hetrick is expected to come out on fire this season.
The TBROWN Yamaha powered by Moto-X-Perts rider, Thomas Brown, returns to the series with a familiar program again this season, but this time the Texas native wants vengeance. Brown struggled early last season with bike issues, but as soon as he got atop the podium at round six, consistency set in and the Yamaha rider finished a close fourth behind Jeremy Lawson in the championship point standings.
2011 seemed to be the year for Chad Wienen, as he swept the opening two rounds of racing and then went on to win all but three of the first seven races, looking heavily favored to win his first-ever AMA Pro ATVMX championship. Unfortunately a practice crash caused the Illinois boy to sit out the rest of the season as a result of back surgery, but Wienen is back this year aboard his Wienen Motorsports/SSi Decals/Walsh Race Craft/Yamaha Racing machine and claims to be stronger than ever.
Joe Byrd Quad Riding School/American Honda’s Joe Byrd returns this season after a tenth place finish in the championship standings. Byrd secured a win at last year’s Steel City round and there’s no doubt he will be back to reclaim a shot at the title this season.
The pro riders will run Saturday as part of a full schedule of amateur racing, including classes for Youth, Women and Veteran riders. Amateurs will practice on Friday and race on Saturday and Sunday.
To get to the track from Atlanta, take I-20 East to Exit 160 (Hwy 223 Norwood Exit). Go left and travel on Hwy 223 until it dead-ends with Hwy 78. Turn right on Hwy 78. The venue is 2.5 miles down on your right (look for the big Aonia Pass Motoplex sign).
The 2012 AMA ATV Motocross Championship will kick off March 24 and 25 at Aonia Pass MX in Washington, Ga., with Pro class racing starting at 1 p.m. Saturday, supported by 37 amateur classes throughout Saturday and Sunday. Tickets on Saturday are $20 for spectators ($10 for ages 6-11), and admission includes full pro-pit access and an autograph session. For more information, please visit
About the AMA ATV Motocross Championship
The AMA ATV Motocross Championship is the nation’s premier amateur and professional ATV motocross series, hosted at top motocross facilities nationwide. The 10-round series features the Nation’s best racers, teams and sponsors, and is America’s largest and longest-running ATV national motocross program. Since 1985, the series continues to expand and produce top talent from the amateur ranks, while premiering the professional class. For more information, please visit

Tags: , , ,

About the Author

Back to Top ↑