Racing no image

Published on June 2nd, 2013 | by Joe


Borich Secures the Win at Wiseco John Penton GNCC

Borich Secures the Win at Wiseco John Penton GNCC
Neal Take sthe XC2 Victory in Ohio

Adam McGill led the most laps of the afternoon race, securing 2nd overall Photo: Ken Hill

MILLFIELD, Ohio (June 1, 2013) – Round 7 of the AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series made a stop in Millfield, Ohio for the 23rd running of the Wiseco John Penton GNCC. Chris Borich returned to his winning ways on Saturday, making a last lap pass on Adam McGill to secure his sixth win of 2013.

Eric Hoyland began his day by grabbing the $250 Team Woodhead/DeRisi Racing XC1 Holeshot Award ahead of a stacked field of riders. It didn’t take long for the veteran front-runners to take the lead, beginning with Lonestar Racing/Precision/ITP’s Adam McGill, who crossed the line in first on the opening lap. Borich put his Maxxis-backed machine right behind McGill, while Reliable Tool Supply/Maxxis’ Chris Bithell, BNR’s Kevin Yoho and JB Racing/Can-Am’s Jarrod McClure followed close behind.

AmPro Yamaha’s Walker Fowler and HMF/GBC/Yamaha’s Johnny Gallagher didn’t get a start out front but the Yamaha-backed duo quickly made their way through the pack. Fowler caught up to the leaders, where he engaged in a battle for a podium position with Bithell, Borich and McGill. A podium finish was in the cards for Fowler until he ran out of gas on the final lap, where he ended up finishing fourth overall for the day.

Although McGill led the most laps of the afternoon, it was Borich who secured the overall win with his patented last-lap pass. McGill’s second place finish was a breakthrough ride, as it matched his season-best second place at the opening round. Bithell’s consistent season continued as the Pennsylvania native secured a third place overall finish.

Gallagher put in a solid ride to take fifth overall, while Yoho came in sixth. Rookie Braden Henthorn finished seventh, while Jeff Pickens, Gabe Phillips and Craig Bowman rounded out the top 10.

Borich continues to lead the overall standings after six rounds of racing, while Fowler sits in second place. Bithell is close behind for third and then it’s McGill and Yoho rounding out the top five overall in the overall National Championship standings.

Borich took his sixth win of the season at the John Penton Photo: Ken Hill

In the XC2 division, it was once again Brycen Neal who came out victorious at the John Penton GNCC. After missing the last round due to injury, Landon Wolfe secured an impressive second place finish in Ohio. Indiana’s Fred Marley secured yet another podium finish behind the rookies, giving him a solid fourth place in the class standings. Additionally, Marley kicked off the day by grabbing the All Balls Racing Holeshot in the XC2 class, taking home an extra $100.

After seven rounds of racing, Neal holds the points lead in the XC2 division, while defending champion Patrick McGuire, who finished 19th in Ohio, sits in second place overall. Wolfe currently holds third place in the overall standings.

Indiana’s Marshal Goings topped the College A class, also claiming the Top Amateur Award for the afternoon. Goings’ impressive ninth place finish put him at the second highest non-pro rider in the overall standings, finishing only two positions behind XC2 winner Brycen Neal.

The 2013 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series continues June 15 and 16 with the Wiseco John Penton GNCC in Millfield, Ohio. For more information on the series, visit

Stay up-to-date with exclusive content from the 2013 AMSOIL GNCC Series by following the series Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

XC1 podium: Adam McGill, Chris Borich, Chris Bithell Photo: Ken Hill

About GNCC Racing

The AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country series is America’s premier off-road racing series. Founded in 1975, the 13-round championship is produced exclusively by Racer Productions. Cross-country racing is one of the most physically demanding sports in the world. The grueling three-hour GNCC races lead as many as 1,500 riders through tracks ranging in length from eight to 12 miles. With varied terrain, including hills, woods, mud, dirt, rocks and motocross sections, GNCC events are tests of both survival and speed. The series draws talent from all over the U.S., Europe, Japan, Australia and New Zealand. GNCC Racing is televised weekly on NBC Sports and For more information, please visit

XC1 Event Results:

  1. Chris Borich (SUZ)
  2. Adam McGill (HON)
  3. Chris Bithell (SUZ)
  4. Walker Fowler (YAM)
  5. Johnny Gallagher (YAM)
  6. Kevin Yoho (YAM)
  7. Braden Henthorn (HON)
  8. Jeff Pickens (YAM)
  9. Gabe Phillips (YAM)
  10. Craig Bowman (HON)

XC2 Event Results:

  1. Brycen Neal (HON)
  2. Landon Wolfe (SUZ)
  3. Fred Marley (HON)
  4. Michael Lancaster (HON)
  5. Brody Livengood (YAM)
  6. James Green (HON)
  7. Josh Merritt (YAM)
  8. Nathan Wallpe (HON)
  9. Dustin Hendershot (YAM)
  10. Randy Hamilton (HON)

XC1 Series Standings:

  1. Chris Borich (201)
  2. Walker Fowler (141)
  3. Chris Bithell (139)
  4. Adam McGill (132)
  5. Kevin Yoho (101)
  6. Jeff Pickens (99)
  7. Johnny Gallagher (96)
  8. Jarrod McClure (96)
  9. Braden Henthorn (95)
  10. Gabe Phillips (83)

XC2 Series Standings:

  1. Brycen Neal (179)
  2. Patrick McGuire (136)
  3. Landon Wolfe (123)
  4. Fred Marley (116)
  5. Randy Hamilton (99)
  6. Michael Lancaster (92)
  7. Josh Merritt (88)
  8. Blake Kramer (88)
  9. Chad Jones (85)
  10. Nathan Wallpe (82)

*Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Chris Borich (201)
  2. Walker Fowler (133)
  3. Chris Bithell (126)
  4. Adam McGill (121)
  5. Kevin Yoho (95)
  6. Jeff Pickens (89)
  7. Johnny Gallagher (83)
  8. Braden Henthorn (81)
  9. Jarrod McClure (74)
  10. Brycen Neal (73)

*Indicates that the Overall National Championship Standings will determine the 2013 National Champion.

Tags: , , , , ,

About the Author

Back to Top ↑