Published on August 10th, 2015 | by ATVMX

Wienen Clinches 4th Consecutive MX Title at Round 10

Loretta Lynn’s Victory Vaults Chad Wienen to Fourth Consecutive
Mtn. Dew ATV Motocross Championship Crown
Hetrick Caps Off Career Season with Runner-Up Effort, Brown Claims Third

Photos By: Ken Hill

HURRICANE MILLS, Tenn. (August 9, 2015) – The 2015 Mtn. Dew ATV Motocross National Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing (ATVMX), came down to the wire on Saturday at the season finale from legendary Loretta Lynn’s Ranch. Just 15 points separated the top two riders in the AMA Pro ATV standings – Wienen Motorsports/Maxxis/SSi Decals/Walsh Race Craft Yamaha’s Chad Wienen and Hetrick Racing/Corrosion Specialties Honda’s Joel Hetrick – and their season-long battle came all the way down to the final checkered flag. Chasing an incredible fourth consecutive championship, Wienen rose to the occasion and outdueled Hetrick to capture the title emphatically, by claiming his fifth overall win.

A sense of excitement and tension filled the air as the AMA Pro ATV field took to the track on Saturday afternoon. Hetrick undoubtedly felt ready for the challenge that lied ahead and responded by doing what he’s done virtually all season, capturing the Top Qualifier for the ninth time and taking home the $1,000 bonus as the winner of that in-season points battle.

When the first moto got underway, Hetrick kept the momentum rolling by racing to the SSi Decals Holeshot Award for the 11th time, another trend he’s set resulting in a $2,000 bonus as the season’s best starter. With his main challenger out front, Wienen started to play damage control almost immediately, slotting into second ahead of Maxxis/H&M Motorsports Honda’s David Haagsma Jr.

Despite his ability to position himself behind Hetrick, Wienen wasn’t able to keep up with the pace of his rival and he soon settled into the runner-up spot knowing it would give him even more room for error in the final moto, minimizing the amount of points lost. Behind this pair Maxxis Yamaha, powered by Moto-Xperts rider Thomas Brown was putting forth an impressive ride to the front, battling his way forward from a fifth-place start into podium position. Hetrick took his 11th moto win 5.591 seconds ahead of Wienen, with Brown a distant third, more than a half minute back.


Hetrick made the first statement of the day, but had to battle back from misfortune in Moto 2.

Entering the final moto of 2015 a total of 12 points sat between Wienen and Hetrick, meaning Wienen needed to finish eighth or better if Hetrick went on to record a 1-1 sweep. Out of the gate Team BTF Honda’s Joe Byrd grabbed the SSi Decals Holeshot Award just ahead of Root River Racing Honda’s Josh Upperman. Upperman would assume the top spot before the completion of the opening lap, with Wienen making a charge into second and Haagsma Jr. third. Hetrick had his work cut out for him, beginning the moto in fifth, which forced him to chase down Wienen.

Wienen put even more pressure on Hetrick by taking the top spot away from Upperman. Hetrick responded by moving up a position, but then experienced some misfortune and dropped to eighth. That incident all but ended Hetrick’s title hopes as Wienen continued to add to his advantage over the field. Brown was even more impressive in the second moto, overcoming a seventh-place start to eventually move into second just before the halfway point. A spot he would never relinquish.

Wienen cruised to victory 8.983 seconds ahead of Brown, who came under fire in the closing laps from a hard-charging Hetrick, after the Honda rider impressively got back into podium contention.


Wienen capped off his run to the title with a win in the last moto of the season

Wienen’s 2-1 moto results allowed him to edge out Hetrick (1-3) for the overall win on the afternoon and, in turn, the AMA Pro ATV Championship. Brown landed on the overall podium for the eighth time with a hard-fought third-place finish (3-2). Haagsma Jr. finished fourth (5-4) with Vechery Racing/Never Sleep Designs Honda’s Ronnie Higgerson in fifth (4-5).

Wienen finished the 2015 season with a 17-point edge over Hetrick in the final standings, while Brown rounded out the top three championship finishers 56 back of Wienen. JB Racing/Can-Am/Liquid Wrench’s Jeffrey Rastrelli ended the championship in fourth (-173), while Gennusa Racing Yamaha’s Nick Gennusa (-183) edged out Upperman (-188) for fifth.

Wienen’s championship triumph also meant that Yamaha outlasted Honda for the coveted Manufacturers Cup.


Brown (front) earned a hard-fought spot on the overall podium.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About the Author


Back to Top ↑